Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts

Sunday, December 4, 2022

136. Medicinal Purposes and We Are The Daleks | Guest Host MARC ATKINSON | Writer JONATHAN MORRIS | Randomoids XVI


 

Guests Marc Atkinson and Jonathan Morris join us for a back-to-back Randomoids Review show as we discuss two monthly range stories, #60 Medicinal Purposes and #201 We Are The Daleks. 

What are your thoughts on these two Big Finish classics? 

We'll also give you our recommendations including a track from a recent solo album released by Marc. 

Find out more about Marc's music at https://marcatkinson.co.uk




Original theme composed by Joe Kraemer | http://www.joekraemer.com/about/


Email: sirensofaudio@gmail.com

Website: https://www.sirensofaudio.com/

Audio Feedback: https://anchor.fm/sirensofaudio

Twitter: http://twitter.com/audiosirens

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/audiosirens/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/audiosirens

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCrU3MLlOeJTLnAbLl35QgeQ


Clips and music are copyright BBC and Big Finish. No infringement is intended.

Sunday, November 27, 2022

135. Prison in Space | The Perpetual Bond | Randomoids XV


It Randomoids time again and this time we are joined by co-host of The Doctor Who Show, David Kitchen. Together we'll discuss the Big Finish Lost Story production, Prison in Space, as well as Companion Chronicles story The Perpetual Bond featuring Peter Purves and Tom Allen, and to top it off, we'll each give you a listening recommendation. 

Rabbit Hole Topic - What makes the black and white era of Doctor Who so magical for 80's kids. 


Visit The Doctor Who Show website - https://thedwshow.net/



Original theme composed by Joe Kraemer | http://www.joekraemer.com/about/


Email: sirensofaudio@gmail.com

Website: https://www.sirensofaudio.com/

Audio Feedback: https://anchor.fm/sirensofaudio

Twitter: http://twitter.com/audiosirens

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/audiosirens/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/audiosirens

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCrU3MLlOeJTLnAbLl35QgeQ


Clips and music are copyright BBC and Big Finish. No infringement is intended.

Sunday, September 11, 2022

Review | Missy and the Monk by James Goss, Johnny Candon and James Kettle

Click image to see the product page
I am not sure there is a more delightful pairing at Big Finish at the moment than Missy, played by the delectable and unpredictable Michelle Gomez and the Monk played with charm and self deprecation by Rufus Hound. 

These two are hilarious together and you never know what they are about to do or how they will play the lines they are given. The situations they move through are often absurd but yet the listener is engaged in every ridiculous plot and scheme. Verging constantly on madness there is still always threat through the humour and yet you just keep warming to them. The audience is left in the dilemma of not wanting them to succeed and yet, you do. 

The madness starts with Body and Soulless by James Goss. How Mr Goss has managed to write so many scripts this year that hit it out of the park is beyond me. His trademark humour is present throughout as Missy starts the story with just the Monk's brain - kept in her carpet handbag. A cross between crazy Mary Poppins and the Brain of Morbius these two threaten the existence of an entire planet as they play out there life taking games. 

Johnny Candon’s first script for Big Finish, War Seed allows for a bit more sanity as Missy has something to prove - which she just can’t manage. 

And once again James Kettle shows what a great story teller he is in Two Monks, One Mistress. Set in Renaissance, Italy it is the perfect place for the Monk and a Nun. When timelords cross timelines fun and disaster follow. Gemma Whelan enters the mix with panache. 

This box set is so much fun but will make you feel guilty while unable to keep from smiling. Joe Kraemer's music and sound design is spectacular and as always director Ken Bentley gets amazing performances out of all his cast. Looking forward to hearing what comes next. 


Philip Edney

Sunday, September 4, 2022

Review | Torchwood: Curios by James Goss

Click image to see the product page
A curio is a rare, unusual or intriguing object. And with this story, Torchwood gets a new curio added to the range. 

James Goss is the master story craftsman when it comes to Torchwood and with Curios has once again managed to switch tones and time zones. Set during the 2nd World War, important artefacts were sent down mines to protect them from the bombs and hide them from possible invasion. But there is much in the Torchwood archives that should never be touched. And more down the mine than anyone is expecting. 

One of the creepiest characters to be created for Torchwood is Bilis Manger. Putting him deep underground, in the dark, makes him creepier still. And as usual Murray Melvin performs Bilis with a servility that drips evil. You can’t hate Manger but every scene he is in leaves you feeling more and more uncomfortable. An amazing performance.  But his performance is backed by all the cast, especially Rosie Baker. 

Scott Handcock, as always, has directed the story perfectly and it has a similar feel to Hitchcock’s Psycho. A cast of characters with dark pasts, secrets and an atmosphere of foreboding. 

Expect to be scared. 


Philip Edney

Wednesday, August 31, 2022

Review | Jekyll and Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson, Adapted by Nicholas Briggs

Click here for product page
The first time the story of Jekyll and Hyde really got it's hooks into me were in the 1988 television series Jack The Ripper, starring Michael Caine. A play of the Stevenson classic featured in the series starring Armand Assante in the role of an American actor who could change his facial features mid-scene and in full view of the audience, to complete the transition from Jekyll to Hyde. I was utterly transfixed and terrified, and with my love of Victorian England already fuelled by such television as Doctor Who's The Talons of Weng-Chiang and Jeremy Brett's Sherlock Holmes, here was another story from an era that holds more mystique to me than almost any other. 

Most adaptations of the Stevenson story are very liberal in their story changes. The Jack The Ripper series had the Lanyon scene (with Lanyon coincidentally played by Weng-Chiang's Litefoot himself, Trevor Baxter) incorrectly showing Jekyll changing into Hyde when the story was the other way round, and the same company who made the series went on to make their own adaption of Jekyll and Hyde with Michael Caine in the tite role. That too had many elements that weren't in the original story and Caine's casting in itself was to say the least, interesting...

It was a great surprise to me to finally hear many years ago, an abridged reading by Tom Baker to discover how much I simply adored the language of Stevenson in the hands of an actor who was not only my hero, but had a voice that dripped both honey and menace, relished in equal measure by me. The simple music and sound effects added to this reading invoked so much horror that I wasn't able to listen to it at night.

So with my adoration of the source material and of Big Finish, a company who in my opinion deserve much more recognition of their non-Doctor Who output than they appear to receive, I was so very excited to discover towards the end of 2021 that an adaptation of Jekyll and Hyde was being released in 2022. But not until August! The wait has been painful, but the time has finally arrived for the release to see the light of day. 

One thing about the Big Finish Classics range I love is that they try very hard to stick as close to the source material as they can. I appreciated this in particular with their version of Frankenstein. What a difficult book this must have been to adapt closely. After all, it is basically a series of letters between people. Jekyll and Hyde is similar with a couple of major letters contained within, but it's not quite as correspondance heavy as Frankenstein. 

Knowing this version of Jekyll and Hyde had been adapted for the stage I assumed it would begin at the beginning with the conversation between Utterson and Enfield. However, I was surprised that it began at the death of Sir Danvers, an event that takes place quite a way into the original story, and then flashes back to that conversation. Initially I thought this was just trying to be original in it's own way, but beginning the story at this point was vital in properly introducing the "team" of the play, namely Utterson and Inspector Newcomen. There is a very good reason the Inspector is so heavily involved with the plot here as opposed to the book. But more of that later. 

I love the way the script has been adapted with dialogue lifted word for word from the original story. It's Stevenson's language and the way he has his characters communicate with each other that appeals to me, so to hear the words being perfomed verbatim, sometimes in ways I least expect, is both refreshing and deeply satisfying.

Director Nick Briggs has managed some dream casting here, with Barnaby Kay as Utterson, the solicitor torn between his moral duty to respect his client's legal rights and deep concern for his friend's physical and mental decline. August 2022 seems to be the month of Barnaby Kay at Big Finish, with him playing the lead in the audio version of U.F.O. and his first River Song script having been released too. 

What is it about Barnaby Edwards that makes him so suited to performing this era? Fantastic as always and such a theatrical persona, he is the perfect Enfield (plus other roles), recounting with horror his first meeting with Hyde yet courageously defending the honour of the family of the young girl assaulted by him. 

John Heffernen plays the dual title roles beautifully, particularly Hyde. Don't imagine you've heard or seen all the ways Hyde can be played. This one is unique and so utterly terrifying on audio. The first meeting with Enfield will stand your hair on end. 

Robert Portal is a constant presence as Inspector Newcomen and I found myself thinking on first listen that the inspector was a little more present than I remembered.... 

Some audio drama can have a tendancy to cast similar voices. That is not the case here. All are unique and very distinctive. None more so than Clare Corbett. Clare plays all the female roles here but none more noticable to me than Mrs Poole, a character who was male in the original story. I would like to hold this production up as an example of what I believe to be real authentic inclusion. 

When Morgan Freeman was asked by a virtuous reporter many years ago whether he felt that there would come a time that racism would no longer be an issue, Freeman replied, "Yes, when people like you stop talking about it." I totally agree.

This is exactly what Nick Briggs has done with Jekyll and Hyde. He has gender-swapped a role, but not for the sake of it. It's a role that could easily be performed by either gender and it doesn't alter the story at all. What I respect most of all, is that this has been done without any mention of it by the cast and crew in the extras or anywhere else. There's no self-congratulation. There's no virtue signalling. It's just been done, and done extremely well. Without any fuss or fanfare. To me, this is true inclusion.

You may be surprised by what I consider to be the most outstanding performance in this play. And that is Nicholas Asbury as Dr Lanyon. Many times I've read the words of Utterson coming to visit the dying Lanyon at his home, and I've had the words read to me by Tom Baker no less, but nothing could prepare me for the power Asbury puts into his performance, particularly in this scene. The amount of inner turmoil that ultimately kills him on seeing Hyde's transformation as displayed here in this performance is enough to make your ears bleed and is nothing short of electrifying. Bravo Mr Asbury! 

A final word here must go to Benji Clifford on sound design. He brings Victorian London alive in beautiful subltle ways, and frightens you to to the core with the slightest of effects on Hyde's voice. He fascinates you with the sound of tea poring into eleagant china and makes you see a hideous monster become a man while you're eyes are closed. These are the plays that remind me why I love audio drama so much. Thanks for all your hard work and attention to detail Benji! 

Oh, and I must also mention how important it is to listen to the extras. It's where you get answers to nagging questions such as why Inspector Newcomen has such a major role. 

Despite the production issues and delays in this release getting to us, I can say it has been worth the wait. I have thoroughly devoured this and imagine it will be on very regular rotation. 

Thank you Nick Briggs and the whole cast and crew for bringing this story to such vivid life. I adore it! 


Dwayne Bunney

Sunday, August 28, 2022

Review | The Lost Resort and Other Stories by AK Benedict, Sarah Ward and Martyn Waites

The Lost Resort and other stories is one of the most emotionally charged box sets that Big Finish have released in a very long time. 

Click image for product page
AK Benedict is a writer generally known for the macabre and horror but in the first story of the set AK explores powerfully the issue of grief and loss. 

Following on directly from the previous stories the Doctor and his companions have just been reunited after the Doctor ran off and left them out of guilt. And relationships are still tense. 

The story takes place on Soresia. This is planet where the dead can continue to have an existence but is existing enough? The audience gets to explore death and loss through the experiences of the well drawn characters. 

All the cast give strong performances but the emotional heart lies with the return of Adric and excellent performances by Peter Davison and Matthew Waterhouse. The Doctor has been living the guilt of Adric dying for many stories, compounded by the near conversion of his latest companion Marc into a Cyberman. The Doctor and Adric get to have those conversations you can only have with people at the end of their lives. 

The greatest joy, and pain, of the story is Adric gets the proper hero ending he didn’t get in Earthshock. His death finally can finally have meaning. Expect tears. 

The Perils of Nellie Bly by Sarah Ward is a total contrast in comparison. A historic comedy with hilarious running around scenes and a race to the finish. Sydney Feder gives a lovely performance as the historic Nellie Bly and like all good historicals had me researching the story behind the story. 

Finally in Nightmare of the Daleks, Martyn Waites is tasked with ending the Marc arc which he does in an engaging and slightly disturbing way. George Watkins as Marc has had a great run as the ancient Roman companion with a thirst for knowledge and life. Parallels with Adric have been seen throughout and this final story creates a sad but satisfying conclusion to that journey. 

A great set of stories. But listen with tissues handy as you are going to need them. 


Philip Edney

Wednesday, August 24, 2022

Review | Torchwood - Empire of Shadows by James Goss

Click image to see the product page
Click image to see the product page
Torchwood: Empire of Shadows demonstrates how far the format of Torchwood can be pushed and still make riveting drama. This story falls in the midst of a great run of stories by author James Goss. One of the great things about Goss’ writing is the fact that every story can be so different from one another by change of character, location, time or tone. The only consistent thing about his writing is the brilliance. 

Empire of the Shadows takes Torchwood in a whole new direction as the story moves into the far future Earth Empire and re-visits Zachary Cross Flane, who was last seen rescuing Ood from the Impossible Planet. In that story the Torchwood archive is mentioned in passing. But this passing mention becomes the central conceit of this drama.

Zachery works for the Torchwood Archive and that connection is going to lead him into a mystery and conspiracy which can turn from suspenseful to comedic in a couple of sentences. A cross between Tomb Raider and House of Cards, no one can be trusted. 

Shaun Parkes returns from the television episodes to play his first role with Big Finish - and here’s hoping it’s not his last visit. Shaun imbues Zachery with a warmth and charm which allows us to accept him as the hero of the story without question. But his frivolity underlies a wisdom and seriousness that you don’t want to cross. 

The sound design requirements for this story were huge. Naomi Clarke does a great job portraying future spaceships and landscapes, echoing temples and city wide destruction. Supported by a strong score by Blair Mowat, the dialogue has a convincing backdrop on which to rest. 

As always, Scott Handcock works his directorial magic. He manages to take a small cast and make a huge, future epic adventure. 

A must listen for anyone who loves Torchwood or want to know more about the Future Earth Empire. 


Philip Edney

Sunday, July 17, 2022

REVIEW: The War Master - Killing Time

Released August 2021

Available from https://www.bigfinish.com/releases/v/the-war-master-killing-time-2225


The Doctor, when confronting the master in The Deadly Assassin says to the Master “You would delay an execution to pull the wings off a fly”. In this box set we see what activities the Master does get up to while just killing time. And it is far more cruel, and equally as unnecessary, as pulling the wings off a fly.

 

Shout out to Rob Harvey. He has composed the most effective scores for The Orphan in The War Master Box set “Killing Time” used for a very long time. The power of the piano, leitmotifs and minor chords is palpable. Although not intrusive, the music acts as a third character driving the emotion.

 

Musical score by is one of the emotive created for a long time. Particularly in The Orphan. The use of piano chords adds to the loneliness and seclusion.


Philip Edney

Sunday, July 10, 2022

REVIEW: Doctor Who - After The Daleks by Roland Moore


Released August 2021

Available from https://www.bigfinish.com/releases/v/doctor-who-after-the-daleks-2229


It has been debated over the years whether the Daleks are truly the most evil creatures in the galaxy or could it be that the humans who seek to use the Daleks to subjugate their other humans are far more evil?


This issue is examined in part in the engaging script “After the Daleks” by Roland Moore. 


This story follows the aftermath of The Daleks Invasion of Earth. The Doctor in a romantic but nevertheless foolhardy action has deserted his granddaughter on a war-ravaged Earth with absolutely nothing, not even a pair of shoes. 


Susan is forced to make the best of the situation and does at least have the beginning of a love match. But before that can blossom there is going to be a fight for survival. Can those that have survived the Daleks survive without technology? Can they learn to grow and harvest food to feed the masses? Can they re-establish a form of government that can fairly rule the people?


It is this political intrigue that forms the backbone to this story and Susan, at first unwilling, must step up into leadership roles or allow another, with the backing of a Dalek, to rule the planet. 


Carole Ann Ford is excellent in this story bringing the youth, joy and fun of Susan and slowly developing the strength required to lead a planet. More Susan please! And it is lovely having  Sean Biggerstaff as David. We are use to Sean whopping up the comedy in the Jenny series but here he shows what a serious actor he can be. The rest of the ensemble are equally excellent bringing a real sense of threat and danger to the story. Lisa Bowerman as director doesn’t hold back any punches as she lets the darkness of the script bleed through. 


After the Daleks is very “Survivors” in feel and I think Terry Nation would have been proud of the coming together in tone of his two shows. 


One thing is certain. The early adventures have gone from strength to strength and really allow original cast members to show what great actor they are and what their character could have been. 


A must listen!


Philip Edney


Sunday, July 3, 2022

REVIEW: Doctor Who - The Secrets of Det-Sen by Andy Frankham-Allen


Released August 2021

Available from https://www.bigfinish.com/releases/v/doctor-who-the-secrets-of-det-sen-2230


One of the great joys of the Early Adventures is hearing the original cast in all their glory. Peter Purves was just honoured during the Queens platinum celebration for his years of service and in this story we see how much he deserved that honour and how talented he still is. 


A story contrivance in the second Doctor story “The Abominable Snowman” is the Doctor needed to return a holy relic to the monastery at Det-Sen which he had taken years earlier for its protection. That unknown adventure is brought to life by Big Finish in this prequel. 


Writer, Andy Frankham-Allen is the creative director for the Haisman Estate who own the rights to the Great Intelligence and the Brigadier. Although his name appears in the production credits of a number of shows he has only written a couple of previous stories. But that doesn’t mean that this story isn’t terrific. 


We might have expected a high octane action adventure, and although there is action, this is far more of a character piece. Actor Lauren Cornelius is first introduced to us as the recast Dodo and what a  splendid job she does. Dodo has been a bit maligned in fan history but there is nothing weak about this characterisation. Lauren plays beautifully off both Peter Purves’ Stephen and his charming Doctor. Although a small cast, everyone is performing great work and there

Is a real intimacy amongst the characters. 


Director Lisa Bowerman as always gets the best from the cast and once again she uses the rhythm of speech to drive the action. 


Most of the Abominable Snowman is missing presumed destroyed. But The Secrets of Det-Sen goes a little way towards reopening a part of the world that has been lost. It does it through great atmosphere and fun story telling. 


Philip Edney


Sunday, June 26, 2022

REVIEW: The Worlds of Blake's 7 - Avalon Volume 2


Released June 2021

Available from https://www.bigfinish.com/releases/v/avalon-volume-02-2473


The worlds of Blake’s 7 have captured the tone of the original show while delving more deeply into characters old and new. It is sometimes difficult to tell who are the heroes and who are the villains. 


Olivia Poulet has re-created a character in Avalon, who we want to follow despite the morally ambiguity she displays. Her interactions with Colin Baker’s Bayban and Stephen Greif’s Travis are wonderful. More adventures for Avalon please. 


Tuesday, June 21, 2022

REVIEW: Sherlock Holmes - The Seamstress of Peckham Rye by Jonathan Barnes


Released July 2021

Available from https://www.bigfinish.com/releases/v/sherlock-holmes-the-seamstress-of-peckham-rye-2496


The Sherlock Holmes series keeps going from strength to strength and the only disappointment is how few stories are released each year. 


Jonathan Barnes has proven himself to be the master detective writer as each new story he has written is more inventive and captivating than the previous one. The twists you never see coming even when signposted for you - and the character keep surprising you with their actions. 


The support cast are exceptional and a who’s who of Big Finish. Lucy Briggs-Owen, Mark Elstob, India Fisher, James Joyce, Angela MacKintosh and Glen McCready. Together they have appeared in hundreds of stories and always rise to the occasion. 


As always, however, kudos must be given to Nicholas Briggs and Richard Earl. They for me are now the definitive Holmes and Watson and everyone else is just a lesser copy. The angst and quiet desperation of Holmes is beautifully played and Watson rises to new heights as a man in love and defender of virtue. 


Sound design by Benji Clifford is faultless and displays his high level of care and pedantry in all that he does and music by Jamie Robertson creates mood across the story. 


As the winner of the 2022 Audie for excellence in performance, production and content there is little more that needs to be said. This has been judged the best audio of the year against every other release. So if you haven’t been swept away to Peckham Rye yet, what are you waiting for?


Philip Edney


Thursday, April 7, 2022

102. Review - Mind of the Hodiac | Interview: SIMON FISHER-BECKER


In this episode we discuss the place of personal politics in our podcast. 

We review the Russell T. Davies penned Doctor Who: Mind of the Hodiac, available from Big Finish Productions. https://www.bigfinish.com/releases/v/doctor-who-mind-of-the-hodiac-2483

We chat with actor Simon Fisher-Becker about his career, his books and his portrayal of Dorium Maldovar in Doctor Who on TV and audio. For more information about Simon visit his website - https://www.fisherbecker.com/


Philip recommends UNIT: Nemesis - Agents of the Vulpreen - https://www.bigfinish.com/releases/v/unit-nemesis-2-agents-of-the-vulpreen-2438

Dwayne recommends The Eleventh Doctor Chronicles Volume One - https://www.bigfinish.com/releases/v/doctor-who-the-doctor-chronicles-the-eleventh-doctor-volume-01-1630

Dwayne also recommends Omega: Audio Drama starring Brian Blessed - https://www.cutawaycomics.co.uk/publications/omega-vengeance



Theme music by The Jackpot Golden Boys | http://www.jackpotgoldenboys.com/


Email: sirensofaudio@gmail.com

Website: https://www.sirensofaudio.com/

Audio Feedback: https://anchor.fm/sirensofaudio

Twitter: http://twitter.com/audiosirens

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/audiosirens/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/audiosirens

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCrU3MLlOeJTLnAbLl35QgeQ


Clips and music are copyright BBC and Big Finish. No infringement is intended.

Thursday, March 31, 2022

101. The Fourth Doctor Solo Adventures



Kenny is on the team again this time as we examine Doctor Who - The Fourth Doctor Adventures - Season 11 - Solo. The two stories in the boxset are Blood of the Time Lords by Timothy X Atack and The Ravencliff Witch by David Llewellyn. - https://www.bigfinish.com/releases/v/doctor-who-the-fourth-doctor-adventures-series-11-solo-2100

Not only do we have Nerys Hughes in her first appearance as new character Margaret Hopwood, we have the final appearance of James Dreyfus as The Master. 

We have a lot to say. 



Philip recommends 42 To Doomsday (Podcast) - https://42todoomsday.wordpress.com/

Dwayne recommends Disgusted, Mary Whitehouse (BBC Radio 4 Documentary) - https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/m0015411

Kenny recommends The Doctor Who Show (podcast) - http://thedwshow.net/

Hear Kenny's recent interview with Paul McGann on the Pieces of Eighth Podcast - https://podcasts.apple.com/au/podcast/3-5-paul-mcgann/id1568889213?i=1000555164638


Theme music by The Jackpot Golden Boys | http://www.jackpotgoldenboys.com/


Artwork by Ryan Aplin - https://twitter.com/iamryanaplin


Email: sirensofaudio@gmail.com

Website: https://www.sirensofaudio.com/

Twitter: http://twitter.com/audiosirens

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/audiosirens/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/audiosirens

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCrU3MLlOeJTLnAbLl35QgeQ


Clips and music are copyright BBC and Big Finish. No infringement is intended.

Thursday, March 17, 2022

99. Randomoid Reviews - Cloud of Fear and Memory Lane



This episode of "We've Got Randomoids" sees us reviewing two stories selected by our listeners and drawn randomly from the Tardis Cookie Jar. Those stories are:

Doctor Who: Cloud of Fear from Audio Visuals - http://www.justyce.org/av05a-frame.html

Doctor Who: Memory Lane from Big Finish - https://www.bigfinish.com/releases/v/doctor-who-memory-lane-254


We also recommend the following releases:

Torchwood: Cadoc Point - https://www.bigfinish.com/releases/v/torchwood-cadoc-point-2412

Beyond The Doctor: London, 1965 - https://www.amazon.com/Doctor-Who-London-1965-Beyond/dp/B08M45ZWBB


Let us know which audio adventure you would like us to review by contacting us via one of the options below. 



Theme music by The Jackpot Golden Boys | http://www.jackpotgoldenboys.com/


Email: sirensofaudio@gmail.com

Website: https://www.sirensofaudio.com/

Twitter: http://twitter.com/audiosirens

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/audiosirens/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/audiosirens

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCrU3MLlOeJTLnAbLl35QgeQ


Clips and music are copyright BBC and Big Finish. No infringement is intended.

Thursday, November 18, 2021

83. Sapphire & Steel Review - Daisy Chain by Joseph Lidster and Remember Me by John Dorney

Listen and Watch on Spotify


Watch on YouTube


Randomoids is back! This time we review two stories from a range you the listener voted for, Sapphire & Steel, starring David Warner and Susannah Harker. 

We look at Daisy Chain by Joseph Lidster and Remember Me by John Dorney. 

Plus, we reveal the next 2 stories to review for "We've Got Randomoids". 

What do YOU think of Sapphire & Steel, either the TV series or the audios? Drop us a line on our socials or a comment on our YouTube channel. 


Theme music by The Jackpot Golden Boys | http://www.jackpotgoldenboys.com/

Email: sirensofaudio@gmail.com

Website: https://www.sirensofaudio.com/

Twitter: http://twitter.com/audiosirens

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/audiosirens

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCrU3MLlOeJTLnAbLl35QgeQ


Clips and music are copyright BBC and Big Finish. No infringement is intended.

Thursday, October 21, 2021

79. Russell T. Davies on Audio - Damaged Goods


We review the Big Finish novel adaptation of Russell T. Davies 1996 Doctor Who Virgin New Adventures novel "Damaged Goods". 

Plus, we take a trip down the rabbit hole and make our usual audio recommendations. 


Philip recommends Pieces of Eighth (An exceptional "British" podcast)

Dwayne recommends Sapphire and Steel - Remember Me by John Dorney and Daisy Chain by Joseph Lidster. 



Theme music by The Jackpot Golden Boys | http://www.jackpotgoldenboys.com/

Email: sirensofaudio@gmail.com

Website: https://www.sirensofaudio.com/

Twitter: http://twitter.com/audiosirens

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/sirensofaudio


Clips and music are copyright BBC and Big Finish. No infringement is intended.

Thursday, June 24, 2021

63. Jago & Litefoot 8 | Randomoids IV - The Phantom Selectortron plus Big Finish From The Beginning Ep. 2

It's that time of the month again where we dive into some stories that the Big Finish Randomoid Selectortron selected for us. This time it's Jago & Litefoot Series 8

We'll also have a chat about some of the latest Big Finish releases from May and June 2021. 

Plus, as an introduction to this episode, we share episode 2 of our new flashcast, Big Finish From The Beginning, with Rob from The Doctor Who Show. 

We end with our latest audio recommendations. 

Next time.... Katy Manning is our special guest.

The Sirens of Audio on YouTube

Theme music by The Jackpot Golden Boys

Email: sirensofaudio@gmail.com

Website: sirensofaudio.com

Twitter: @AudioSirens

Facebook: www.facebook.com/groups/sirensofaudio/

Clips and music are copyright BBC and Big Finish. No infringement is intended.

Thursday, June 3, 2021

60. SADIE MILLER - The Return of Sarah Jane Smith

Our special guest is Sadie Miller, who is now recreating the character of Sarah Jane Smith for Big Finish. Sadie speaks about growing up with two actors for parents, her career so far and how she has come to be cast in the role made famous and universally loved by her late mother, Elisabeth Sladen. 

In a change for the podcast, Philip and Dwayne's latest journey down the rabbit hole see them speaking about some of their guilty pleasures when it comes to the TV series. 

Recommendations

Philip recommends Dalek by Robert Shearman read by Nicholas Briggs (Audiobook)

Dwayne recommends The Doomsday Contract by John Lloyd adapted by Nev Fountain (Big Finish Lost Stories)


Dwayne Bunney on Twitter

The Sirens of Audio on YouTube

Theme music by The Jackpot Golden Boys

Email: sirensofaudio@gmail.com

Website: sirensofaudio.com

Twitter: @AudioSirens

Facebook: www.facebook.com/groups/sirensofaudio/

Clips and music are copyright BBC and Big Finish. No infringement is intended.